Foundation Happenings Mid-Year Report: Read Now Internship Program: Now Accepting Applications and Postings

Humanitarian Aid Program

Showcasing how the aviation community can join together to aid those in need.



The Foundation supports humanitarian causes that use the power of aviation to help save lives, promote human welfare and alleviate suffering. Our focus is on restoring the basic necessities and improving the well-being of those in need as a result of global disasters and/or afflictions. In addition, the ISTAT Foundation collaborates with and supports non-governmental, not-for-profit organizations that provide air transportation for patients that have critical needs for medical treatment and cargo that is necessary to support humanitarian causes.

How to Apply

The committee is no longer accepting proposals for the 2018 ISTAT Foundation Humanitarian Program. 

Interested organizations are asked to prepare a one-page proposal stating:

(1) the organization's mission and activities;
(2) purpose of requested grant (including USD amount);
(3) plans to recognize the support of the ISTAT Foundation.

Completed applications shall be submitted as an email attachment to with the subject line: ISTAT Foundation Humanitarian Grant Application, {Organization Name}. It is encouraged to provide electronic attachments of the organization's brochures, news clippings or articles. 

The deadline to submit proposals is now over. All humanitarian grant applicants will be notified of the status of their application in October of 2018. Urgent applications will have an expedited review and approval process.

Please note that the ISTAT Foundation generally awards humanitarian grants of up to $10,000 USD.

For more information on the ISTAT Foundation Humanitarian Aid Program, please contact ISTAT Foundation Headquarters.

Phone: +1.312.673.5379

Congratulations to the 2018 ISTAT Foundation Humanitarian Aid Grant Recipients

The ISTAT Foundation awarded $95,000 in humanitarian grants to 13 charities worldwide, plus an additional $100,000 to Airlink:

  • Aerobility - UK
  • Airserv International - USA
  • AMREF Flying Doctors - Kenya
  • Angel Flight NE - USA
  • Aviation Without Borders - UK
  • Flying Angels - Italy
  • Freedom in the Air - UK
  • Mission Aviation Fellowship - UK
  • Royal Australian Flying Doctor Service - Australia
  • South African Red Cross Society - South Africa
  • Westpac Rescue Helicopter Service - Australia 
  • Wings of Hope - USA

Humanitarian Aid Committee

The 2018 Humanitarian Aid Committee is comprised of Julian Balaam - Chair, David Swan, Vice Chairman, Todd Freeman, Sylvain Gloux, Michael Halaby, Mary Ellen Jones, James McCarthy and Rod Sheridan.