Foundation Happenings South Florida Golf Dublin Golf Event Chicagoland Golf Tournament

Scholarship Program

Helping young people develop careers in aviation by offering scholarships to college-level students who are academically qualified and in need of financial support.

2023 Scholarship Program Update

Please note that the timeline for the 2023 Scholarship Program has changed.  The applications will open on 23 January 2023 and close on 3 April 2023.  Universities must confirm their candidate names by 13 February 2023. All candidates will be notified of their application status by 15 May 2023. 


The application for the ISTAT Foundation Scholarship is by invitation only and open to a select number of qualified universities.  Students must secure a nomination from the university they will be attending during the 2023-2024 academic year to apply for the Scholarship.  For more information on university qualification, the candidate eligibility criteria and nomination process, please view the FAQs below.

View FAQs

Are you a former receipient of an ISTAT Foundation Scholarship?  Join our ISTAT Foundation Scholarship Alumni Network on LinkedIn!


Qualified universities are invited to submit two candidates, unless requested otherwise, to apply for the Scholarship on an annual basis. 

Returning University: Please contact to receive a link to a form to confirm your university's 2023 Scholarship Program candidates.  Upon confirmation, you will receive an email with the link to the Scholarship application to share with your candidates.

New University: If you are a university representative and would like more information about how your institution can become qualified to take part in the Scholarship Program, please complete this questionnaire.  Within five business days of submitting the questionnaire, the ISTAT Foundation HQ will email the university to confirm if they are eligible to submit candidates for the Scholarship Program.

Candidate Criteria

  • Completion of at least two years of undergraduate (bachelor’s) studies or currently enrolled in graduate (master’s) or post graduate (doctoral) studies;
  • Applicants must hold an academic ranking within the top 25% (75 - 100%) (United States Grade Point Average requirement: 3.0 or above on a 4.0 scale); 
  • Need of financial support for university tuition-only fees;
  • Enrolled in one of the following programs as it relates to commercial aviation: aviation finance, aviation law, aeronautical engineering, aviation management, aeronautical science, aviation computer science, aviation maintenance or airport management. Please note that we do not accept applications from candidates who have a career goal to become a pilot.
  • Commitment to a career in aviation; • Involvement in extra-curricular/community activities indicating leadership qualities

Congratulations to the 2022 ISTAT Foundation Scholarship Recipients!

Mr. Nana Agyeman Abu-Bonsra, Leiden University 
Miss Lin Al Atik, ISAE - SUPAERO
Mr. Ying Sang Au, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Ms. Kristen Cunningham, Oklahoma State University
Ms. Aislinn Dooley, Dublin City University
Ms. Anna Edakina, Cranfield University
Mr. Juan Esteban Garcia Ospina, Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana
Mr. Jordi Frittoli, Imperial College London
Mr. Timothy Gelfer, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Prescott
Ms. Zhiqing Guo, New York University Shanghai 
Mr. Siddhant Gupta, Cranfield University
Mr. Romulo Gutierrez, Purdue University
Ms. Adwoa Gyasi, Lewis University
Mr. Daniel Hincapie, Pontifical Bolivarian University (Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana)
Mr. Hugh Hoare, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Asia
Mr. Shivay Khanna, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Daytona Beach
Mr. Spencer Kolman, Lewis University
Mr. Alastair Lai, University of Cambridge
Mr. Haolin Li, Imperial College London
Miss Shiyun Li, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Daytona Beach
Mr. Daniel Londono, Leiden University
Mr. Hongyu Lu, New York University Shanghai
Ms. Helena Marenow, University of Bath
Ms. Nicole Matko, University College Dublin
Mr. Zakaria Mokhtari, SUPAERO MAROC - Ecole d'Ingénieurs Aéronautique
Ms. Divya Nittur, Purdue University 
Ms. Yara Omar, Cairo University
Mr. Alexander Paskill, Purdue University
Mr. Cephas Pinder II, Florida Memorial University
Mr. Gregory Podkowa, Lewis University
Mr. Nicholas Quake, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Daytona Beach
Mr. Justo Antonio Rodriguez, ISAE - SUPAERO 
Mr. Raymond Rolle, Florida Memorial University
Mr. Noah Ross, Auburn University
Miss Nicoletta Salvatore, Lewis University
Miss Ariel Sampson, California Polytechnic State University
Miss Lauren Strydom, University of Witwatersrand
Miss Manuella Tchouteng, Ecole Nationale de l'Aviation Civile
Mr. Siddharth Varkey, University College of Dublin
Mr. Logan Vawter, Oklahoma State University
Mr. Johannes Visagie, University of Witwatersrand
Mr. Lukas Whaley, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Prescott
Mr. Stephan Zuehlke, Danube University Krems 

View 2021 ISTAT Foundation Scholarship Recipients.

Named Scholarships

The ISTAT Foundation name scholarship awards to specific universities as requested by the individual donors. Certain Named Scholarship funds include donations that are matched by ISTAT.

  • Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Scholarship Award
    This scholarship is awarded to two students annually; one from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University and one from Purdue University.
  • Jon Batchelor Scholarship Award
    This scholarship is awarded to two students at universities in Florida, USA annually.
  • Hafthor Hafsteinsson Scholarship Award
    This scholarship is awarded to one student at a university outside of the USA studying aviation management, aviation economics, aviation law or equipment finance.
  • Gilbert W. Speed Memorial Scholarship Award
    This scholarship is awarded to one student annually.
  • Joseph Nadol Memorial Scholarship Award
    This scholarship is awarded to one student with a concentration in aviation research and/or finance annually.
  • Norman C.T. Liu Greater China Scholarship Award
    This scholarship is awarded to 17 students at three universities in greater China annually.
  • ISTAT Foundation/Omni Air International Scholarship Award
    This scholarship is awarded to one Oklahoma State University annually.
  • ISTAT Foundation/Diane K. Ballweg Scholarship Award
    This scholarship is awarded to four Lewis University students annually.





Scholarship Program Committee

The 2022 Scholarship Committee is comprised of Andy LaStella - Chair, Bruce Dankberg, Mohamed El-Boraï, Amy Li, Satoru Ohki, Ron Pye, Betsy Snyder, Jean Stein, Mark Streeter and Joel Wagner.